The MCAT and Lifelong Skills

Options

"Why do I have to learn all this, anyway?"

This is the quintessential question we've all asked during prep for the Medical College Admission Test®. The test has four sections: Chem/Phys, CARS, Bio/Biochem, and Psych/Soc. It has four section scores and one summative score created by adding them all together. It has over two hundred questions - 230, to be exact. It is difficult, and it is important. That doesn't really answer the question, though, does it?

A bit about me: I am an MCAT teacher and tutor, and I'm currently in medical school. I've taken numerous exams, including shelf exams and STEP. Medical boards are tests of knowledge, yes, but above all, they are tests of understanding. What happens if we change x? What happens if we remove y? What would happen to renal hormone excretion if a patient with condition z is given drug a? You know the material, yes, but can you contextualize it?